Apply now: 13th UNWTO Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Tourism


UNWTO is currently inviting submissions to the 13th edition of the UNWTO Awards. Co-organized by International Tourism Trade Fair (FITUR / IFEMA), the event will take place on 18 January 2017 on the first day of the 2017 FITUR/IFEMA, Madrid, Spain.

The applications for the UNWTO Awards for Innovation in Tourism are open for organizations or businesses, fitting into one of the categories listed below, and that are currently undertaking a tourism-related project/initiative with an innovative and sustainable approach.

1.    UNWTO Award for Innovation in Public Policy and Governance
2.    UNWTO Award for Innovation in Enterprises
3.    UNWTO Award for Innovation in Non-Governmental Organizations
4.    UNWTO Award for Innovation in Research and Technology

The deadline for submitting applications is 30 September 2016. All applications shall be sent to Please make sure to read the Guidelines before completing your application. Applications not respecting the conditions listed in the Statement of Understanding will not be considered. The needed documents are available for download at the bottom of this page.

Important Note: All complete applications are carefully evaluated by an international Jury of Experts based on the criteria set forth in the 13th UNWTO Awards Guidelines.

Learn more about the UNWTO Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Tourism


UNWTO Awards Forum

The UNWTO Awards Forum will be held prior to the Awards Ceremony on 16 January 2017.

The forum is held to highlight best practices and theories showcased by the UNWTO Awards finalists. The forum includes keynote speeches by the UNWTO Ulysses Prize and the Lifetime Achievement laureates, presentations by the awardees and a high level panel discussion on the current status of innovation in tourism and how to improve knowledge flows within the tourism community, therefore bridging theory and practice.


Timetable of Events

30 September 2016                                                      Deadline of reception of applications
Last week of November 2016                                           Announcement of Awardees
16 January 2017                                                          13th UNWTO Awards Forum
18 January 2017                                                          13th UNWTO Awards Ceremony 


For further information, please contact the Knowledge Network Team at



Descargar PDF