12th UNWTO Awardees


UNWTO Lifetime Award Achievement
Awardee of the category: Mr. Arthur Haulot


UNWTO Ulysses Prize for Excellence in the Creation and Dissemination of Knowledge
Awardee of the category: Dr. Richard Butler


UNWTO Award for Innovation in Public Policy and Governance

Awardee of the category:
Re-Inventing The Government in Tourism - Pemkab Banyuwangi (Indonesia)

First Runner-up:
East Africa Tourism Platform (Kenya)

Second Runners-up:
Green Certifications Programme - Puerto Rico Tourism Company (Puerto Rico)
Responsible Tourism and Crime Free in Medellín - Alcaldía de Medellín (Colombia) 


UNWTO Award for Innovation in Enterprises

Awardee of the category:
Treetop Walking Path - ANYKŠČIAI Regional Park Direction (Lithuania)

First Runners-up:
Bali Beach Clean-up - Garuda Indonesia  (Indonesia)
World´s First 100% Electric Tour Bus - Switzerland Explorer Tours (Switzerland)

Second Runners-up:
First Professional Experience Project Melia Hotels International (Spain)
Plentifulness Project - Projeto Fartura (Brazil)


UNWTO Award for Innovation in Non-Governmental Organizations

Awardee of the category:
Sisterhood of Survivors (SOS) Programme - Samrakshak Samuha Nepal (SASANE) - Nepal

First Runner-up:
Coral Reef Reborn - Yayasan Karang Lestari (Indonesia)

Second Runners-up:
The Childsafe Movement - Friends-International (Cambodia)
Children in the Wilderness - South Africa


UNWTO Award for Innovation in Research and Technology

Awardee of the category:
Itaipu Touristic Complex - FUNDAÇÃO Parque Tecnológico Itaipu (Brazil)

First Runners-up:
Korea Medical Tourism Online Platform - Korea Tourism Organization (Korea)
Mobile Application Bike Rijeka - Rijeka Tourist Board  (Croatia)



With the support of:




With the collaboration of:




Shall you have further queries regarding this communication, please contact UNWTO Knowledge Network at awards@unwto.org